Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Bar

If a person has to eat dessert everyday, would you say that he or she has a sweet tooth? If the answer is yes, then my teeth should be rotten. I literally eat sweets everyday, so I try to make them healthier. This time, I using chick peas! Not my first endeavor into using beans in baked goods but definitely my best. I have never shared a recipe before, so I am nervous to post this. Don’t hate me if you hate it! But please let me know what you think if you do make it. πŸ™‚ What I used…

  • 1 cup garbanzo beans / chick peas
  • 2 tablespoons applesauce
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 packets Stevia
  • 1/4 cup semisweet vegan chocolate chips
  • Touch of salt

I used dried chickpeas and soaked them overnight but canned work as well. The amount I save on using dried beans is incredible. Plus, I can soak exactly how much I need, since recipes often use different size cans, and I personally dislike recipes that call for ‘1 tablespoon of tomato paste’ – so what do I do with the rest of the can?? I prefer the extra flavor that brown sugar adds in cookies but also tried to reduce some of the calories by adding Stevia. I’m the kind of girl that likes the ‘cookie-part’ more than the chocolate chips in a chocolate chip cookie, so the amount that I used is probably low for most. Of course, your favorite sugar substitute (syrup, agave, raw sugar, etc.) or type of chocolate chip can be substituted. If you’re vegan, make sure they are dairy free! Seriously, all you do is combine in a food processor, adding the chips at the end. The worst part is waiting for it to bake.

cookie batter

Pour in a baking dish and bake for 30 minutes or until the top begins to brown and a knife comes out clean.

The finish product!

The finished product!

Some things to consider: I have tried recipes with chick peas without using a food processor (simply mashed by hand), however, I think a processor is essential when using beans in recipes in order to get the right texture. When I did not have a food processor, I think you can tell that there are beans in the dish; first, the batter is lumpier, second, the beans weren’t able to distribute their flavor evenly with the other ingredients. I also didn’t use oil, which may bother some people, but I don’t like the oily outcome of baked goods. I always cook for myself, so I bake small batches of everything. Please be warned that this doesn’t produce a typical batch of cookies that can feed an army!

So simple, and no crazy vegan ingredients. πŸ™‚ Happy eating!

Nom Nom 1 Nom Nom 2

Mm…so dense. Where are the beans?!

 

EDIT: I forgot the applesauce in the recipe! I just tried to make it without, and the batter was extremely dry, and I was ridiculously confused….Don’t forget the applesauce! I have also found out recently that adding salt to baked good really enhances the flavor, so add a bit and you’ll be surprised!

Instagram

4 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Bar

Leave a Reply

